ISRO Located In Which State – Where Is The Headquarters Of ISRO Located

Where Is ISRO Located In India – Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) is the space agency of the Government of India. ISRO conducts research on space science and space exploration for national development, which is one of the largest space agencies in the world.

Its full form ISRO is Indian Space Research Organization. This is the space agency of the Government of India. ISRO’s official website is ISRO aims to conduct research on space science and space exploration for national development. So let us know where ISRO is located –

ISRO Located In Which State

ISRO is located in the state of Karnataka.

Where Is ISRO Located In India

ISRO in India is located in Bengaluru city of Karnataka state. Bengaluru City is the capital of the state of Karnataka in southern India and is the largest city in Karnataka.

Where Is The Headquarters Of ISRO Located

The headquarters of ISRO is located in Bengaluru city, Karnataka state, India. The complete address of ISRO Headquarters is as follows – Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) Headquarters, Antriksh Bhawan, New BEL Road, Bengaluru, Karnataka, India- 560231.

In 1982, ISRO headquarters was established at Antriksh Bhawan in Bengaluru. The building was designed by renowned architect Charles Correa and was inaugurated by the then Prime Minister Indira Gandhi.

Initially, ISRO was headquartered at the Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station (TERLS) near Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala. But, as ISRO’s activities expanded, the need arose for a larger, more centralized headquarters to manage its various centers and facilities located across India.

Who founded ISRO?

The concept of Indian Space Program or ISRO was established by physicist, astronomer Dr. Vikram Sarabhai in the year 1969, then its name was Indian National Committee for Space Research (INCOSPAR – Indian National Committee for Space Research). India’s first Prime Minister Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, considering it an important part of India’s future development, placed space research under the supervision of the Department of Atomic Energy in 1961, whose director was Homi Bhabha.

How Did ISRO Reach Bengaluru?

Vikram Sarabhai felt the need to create a government institution in India to expand the scope of space research. With this in mind, he started preparations even before 1962, and it was implemented in 1969. In the same year, the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) was established, but the person behind the tireless effort to bring ISRO’s headquarters to Bengaluru is Satish Dhawan. The space center of Sriharikota has been named after Satish Dhawan. .

Pro. Dhawan always tried to expand the scope of research, his aim was to establish many more centers for research work. Dhawan had been preparing a blue-print for a long time to expand the work of science and research. He was looking for the best talent across the world. Searching for workers who can take the research work to sky-high heights, but sometimes there is a sudden drop in rhythm. Even before it could begin, Indian space science was plunged into deep darkness. On December 30, 1971, ISRO veteran Vikram Sarabhai died suddenly of a heart attack at the age of 52, leaving everyone in a state of confusion.

After the death of Sarabhai, the then Prime Minister Indira Gandhi asked Professor Dhawan to take over the responsibility of ISRO Chairman. Dhawan also made two proposals to Indira. Among his proposals was the first to bring the ISRO headquarters to Bengaluru and the second to retain him as the director of IISc. After that ISRO headquarters came to Bengaluru.

Purpose Of Bringing ISRO Headquarters To Bengaluru

Dhawan’s strong argument behind bringing ISRO headquarters to Bengaluru was that the ecosystem there was better for research infrastructure. Having an office in Bengaluru will be beneficial from all sides. The offices of Hindustan Aircraft (now Aeronautics) Limited, established in 1940, and Aeronautics Engineering Limited of IISc, established in 1942, were brought to Bengaluru. Satish Dhawan retired from IISc in 1981, and then retired from ISRO in 1984. Dhawan was the Chairman of the Indian Space Research Commission until his death in 2002.


ISRO is located in which state?
ISRO’s headquarters is located in Bengaluru.

When and who established ISRO?
Vikram Sarabhai founded ISRO in 1969.

Leave a Comment